Friday, December 29, 2023


Rebecca Gutierrez Crowned 2014 Sun Queen August 15, 2014

Rebecca Gutierrez Crowned 2014 Sun Queen

The Sun Bowl Association announced the coronation of the 2014 Sun Queen and Sun Court on Friday evening at the El Paso Country Club.

Rebecca Gutierrez, the daughter of Raul and Diana Gutierrez, was crowned the 2014 Sun Queen. She is a senior elementary education major at the University of Texas at El Paso.

A graduate of Americas High School, Gutierrez graduated in the top-10 percent of her class and was tabbed a Distinguished Achievement Diploma Graduate. While at Americas, she was a member of the National Honor Society, the National Technical Honor Society, the Business Professionals of America and a district and state winner as part of the DECA International Association of Marketing Students. Gutierrez was a two-time regional qualifier as part of the varsity cross country team and a district champion as member of the varsity basketball team.

She is the recipient of the Women’s Fund of El Paso and Center for Civic Engagement Scholarship, a member of the Alpha Xi Delta Women’s Fraternity and the Order of Omega Greek Leadership Honor Society.

Gutierrez is currently residing as the President of Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education at UTEP. She volunteers her time to UTEP’s Project Move, the UTEP Women’s Resource Center, the Lee and Beulah Moor Children’s Home, and the Center for Civic Engagement.

The 2014 Lady-In-Waiting is Elizabeth Vicencio, daughter of Rogelio Jr. and Irma Vicencio. She is a junior biological science major at the University of Texas at El Paso.

The Eastwood High School alum was a member of the National Honor Society, an all-academic honoree as part of the volleyball and softball teams, and captain of the softball squad.

Vicencio is a member of the Zeta Tau Alpha Women’s Fraternity and is involved with the Susan G. Komen foundation, the North American Food Drive, the Multiple Sclerosis Association, UTEP’s Project Move and Cheer for the Cure.

The 2014 Sun Princesses are Daniela Alvidrez, Cassidy Daw, Amanda Guillen, Christina Gutierrez, Cassandra Hernandez, Kayla Mehl, Brittany Prater, Destinee Russell, Cindy Van and Elizabeth Villalba.

Judging is based on poise, appearance, personality, communication and interpersonal skills and the ability to demonstrate knowledge of El Paso. Contestants must be enrolled as full-time students. The coronation has been a tradition in El Paso since the first collegiate Sun Bowl game in 1936.

Sun Court members serve as ambassadors for the Sun Bowl Association, as well as for the City of El Paso. The Sun Queen and Sun Princesses will attend various community events, such as the Hyundai Sun Bowl, FirstLight Federal Credit Union Sun Bowl Parade, WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational, Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic, Academy Sports + Outdoors Sun Bowl International Soccer Tournament, Price’s Creameries Sun Bowl youth camps and clinics and other various events throughout the community.

Contact Us!

Sun Bowl Association
4150 Pinnacle Street
Suite 100
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: (915) 533-4416
Toll Free: (800) 915-BOWL