Tuesday, December 31, 2024


Barry Kobren Takes Over Reins of Sun Bowl Association April 17, 2014

Barry Kobren Takes Over Reins of Sun Bowl Association

The Sun Bowl Association has elected Barry Kobren as President for the 2014-15 year.

“The Sun Bowl Association is comprised of dedicated individuals with the common goal of providing quality events for the El Paso community while showcasing the best our city has to offer,” said Executive Director Bernie Olivas.

“With nearly 30 years of volunteer experience, Barry Kobren exemplifies the standards of our organization and we are very proud to announce his leadership for the upcoming year.”

Kobren, along with the 2014 Board of Directors and Advisors, were officially introduced Thursday at the Oasis Bistro and Lounge in Downtown El Paso.

An active member of the Sun Bowl Association since 1988, Barry Kobren began volunteering as a team host for the WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational. In 1994, he was named Team Host Committee Captain and served as Tournament Chairman in 1998. Kobren has also served as the Tournament Selection Chairman since 1997. He was originally appointed to the Sun Bowl Association’s board of directors in 1993 and has served, at different times, as Vice Chairman Basketball, Treasurer, Executive Vice President and President Elect.

In 2012, the WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational Most Valuable Player trophy was named the Barry Kobren Most Valuable Player Trophy to recognize the 25-years of Kobren’s dedication to the organization.

“Love for my community, and the Sun Bowl specifically, was instilled in me at a young age,” said Kobren. “Some of my earliest memories are of attending the football game, basketball tournament and the parade. As a child, I remember my father, Sam Kobren, working at home on the script for the Sun Bowl luncheon. He also served for many years on the CBS Host Committee and the Sponsor Host Committee.

“There has been a Kobren involved in the Sun Bowl for over 50 years and even my son has been a basketball host committee member making it three generations of Sun Bowl Kobrens.”

A lifelong El Pasoan, Kobren graduated from Coronado High School in 1980 and attended the University of Texas at Austin, where he graduated in 1984 Summa Cum Laude with a bachelor’s degree in business administration. He is a Certified Public Accountant and is the Senior Vice President of Sanders Partners Incorporated where he has been since 1990.

Kobren has been active in the El Paso community in civic and religious organizations. He is a past president of Congregation B’nai Zion where he served on the board in numerous capacities. Kobren is also a past president of the El Paso Chapter of the Ex-Students Association of the University of Texas at Austin and a past chairman of the El Paso Cancer Treatment Center Benefit.

“I am looking forward to the coming year and working with the great staff at the Sun Bowl and all of the exceptional volunteers,” added Kobren. “I want to thank my wife, Robin, without whose support and understanding all these years, I would not have been able to reach this day.”

Kobren and his wife Robin, a teacher, have a son, Aaron who is also a past host committee member for the WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational.

Joining the 81st president of the association on the board of directors are Marilyn Munden (President Elect), Steve Beltran (Executive Vice President), Walker Crowson (Immediate Past President), Jimmy Rogers, Jr. (Chair Emeritus), Natalia Flores (Secretary), Ric Siefkas (Treasurer), Bryan Crowe (VP Community Relations), Stuart Sliva (VP Marketing), Scott Mann (VP Legal Affairs), Wayne Thornton (VP Public Relations), Bill Coon (VP Volunteers), Linda Smith (Coronation), John101 Folmer (Football Chairman), Jim Lawrence (Parade Chairman), Art Muñoz (Special Events Chairman), Asher Feinberg (CBS Host Chairman), Gary Hanson (Golf Chairman), Allen Rystad, John Aranda, Larry Duncan, Robert Dunlop, Michael Guerra, Drew Hawley, Mary Kipp, Andre Miranda, Victor Rueda, James O. Stewart III, Ernest Eisenberg, Tamara Gladkowski and Travis Hughes.

The 2014 Sun Bowl Association Board of Advisors is made up of Amen Ayoub, Frank Bates, Ruben Batista, Bill Blaziek, Edward Davis, Richard Dayoub, Linda East, Sarah Enriquez, Veronica Escobar, David Forti, Brian Kennedy, Monica Lombraña, Tommy Lewis, Charles Lopez, Jr., Agustin Montes, David Morales, Chris Mott, Major General (USA Ret.) John Oblinger, Jean Offutt, Cindy Ramos Davidson, Terri Rangel, Jimmy Rogers III, Mike Rogers, Mike Rosales, Victor Salazar, Bob Stull, Brad Taylor, Pat Valdez-Rios, Joe Valenzuela, Charles Vass and Mario Vega.

Contact Us!

Sun Bowl Association
4150 Pinnacle Street
Suite 100
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: (915) 533-4416
Toll Free: (800) 915-BOWL