Friday, December 29, 2023




EL PASO, Texas – Stuart Sliva took over as Sun Bowl Association Board President on May 1 and is set to hold the position until April of 2020.

Sliva has had a successful career in the automotive industry for over 25 years and is currently an executive representing the Ford brand with Fortune 200 company, Group 1 Automotive. Sliva is a recipient of four straight Group 1 Chairman Awards, an eight-time President’s Award winner with Ford Motor Company.

“I look forward to working together with Stuart Sliva at the helm of the Board of Directors and we expect that he will do a great job in keeping the Sun Bowl Association one of the top and long-standing organizations in El Paso,” said Bernie Olivas, Executive Director of the Sun Bowl Association.

In his new role as President, Sliva is dedicated to the continued success of the Sun Bowl Association events such as the Sun Bowl Marathon All-American Golf Classic, Sun Bowl Parade, the WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational, and the 86th Annual Hyundai Sun Bowl, scheduled on December 31, 2019.

Stuart’s priority is to preserve the legacy of the Sun Bowl Association and to continue the longstanding El Paso traditions many generations of families can enjoy.

“What a distinguished honor it is to have the opportunity to lead one of the most respected and long-standing organizations in El Paso, with 86 years of existence,” Sliva said. “We have such a great group of community leaders guiding the way for the future of the Sun Bowl Association. This is a very exciting time to be a part of the Sun Bowl. I am very confident that this is going to be a great year of growth and success for our association.”

Prior to taking on the role as Sun Bowl Association President, Stuart has served on the Board of Directors/Advisory since 1999, starting with co-chairing the Sun Bowl Rotarian Team Luncheon.

In addition to serving on the board with the Sun Bowl Association, Stuart served as a Trustee/President at St. Clements Church/School, a Rotarian, and former Board of Trustee for Schreiner University.

Stuart Sliva is married to Jennifer Lowenfield Sliva and together they have four children, Mason, Morgan, Cole, and Sophie.

The Board of Directors added two new members in Michelle Hays of Las Palmas Del Sol Healthcare and Rebekah Wierson of Harrison French & Associates. All board members are listed below.

Board of Directors – 2019-20 Name Business/Company
Chair Emeritus Jimmy Rogers, Jr. Retired
President Stuart Sliva Group 1 Automotive
President-Elect Natalia Flores FirstLight Federal Credit Union
Executive Vice-President Robert Dunlop Schneider Electric
Immediate Past President Scott Mann Kemp Smith Law Firm
Secretary Tammy Gladkowski WestStar Bank
Treasurer John Aranda UTEP – Institutional Advancement
VP Community Relations Brooke Underwood Destination El Paso
VP Marketing Richard Dayoub Thunderbird Management Consulting
VP Legal Affairs Scott Mann Kemp Smith Law Firm
VP Public Relations Wayne Thornton El Paso Parks & Recreation
VP Volunteers Michael Guerra Guerra Investment Advisors
Chairman Basketball Barry Kobren Sanders Partners
Chairman CBS Host Asher Feinberg Morgan Stanley Smith Barney, LLC
Chairman Coronation Linda Smith St. Mark’s School
Chairman Football John Folmer RJL Real Estate
Chairman Golf Mark Pelletier El Paso Country Club
Chairman Parade Jim Lawrence Quality Property Management
Chairman Special Events Art Munoz Independent Contractor
Chairman Provisions Allen Rystad Splash and Dash
Member Amen Ayoub Radisson Suites
Member Bill Coon YMCA
Member Michelle Kaip Elevation Hotel Management
Member Victor Salazar GCC Sun City Materials, LLC
Member Michelle Hays Las Palmas Del Sol Healthcare
Member Rebekah Wierson HFA (Harrison French & Associates)
Member Travis Hughes Hughes Financial Group
Member Richard Limas Academy Sports + Outdoors
Member Tony Valtier Texas Workforce Commission


Contact Us!

Sun Bowl Association
4150 Pinnacle Street
Suite 100
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: (915) 533-4416
Toll Free: (800) 915-BOWL