Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Team Selection Process

The Hyundai Sun Bowl is in the fifth year of six-year contracts with the ACC and the Pac-12 conferences. The current selection order for each conference is:


College Football Playoff
Citrus Bowl versus SEC
Camping World Bowl versus Big 12 No. 3.

Bowl Selection pool (all have equal selection status get picks No. 3–7)
Belk Bowl versus SEC
Hyundai Sun Bowl versus Pac-12 No. 5
New Era Pinstripe Bowl versus Big Ten
Franklin American Mortgage Music City Bowl or the Taxslayer Gator Bowl versus SEC
From 2014-19, the Music City and Taxslayer Gator will each get ACC team three times. Taxslayer Gator Bowl has ACC priority this year after Music City used ACC in 2014.


College Football Playoff
Automatic berth to one of the New Year’s six bowl games, the Rose Bowl verses Big Ten No. 1 in years Rose Bowl is not a CFP Semifinal.
Valero Alamo Bowl versus Big 12 No. 2
Holiday Bowl versus Big Ten
Redbox Bowl (formerly the Foster Farms Bowl) versus Big Ten
Hyundai Sun Bowl versus ACC No. 3-7
Mitsubishi Motors Las Vegas Bowl versus Mountain West

Contact Us!

Sun Bowl Association
4150 Pinnacle Street
Suite 100
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: (915) 533-4416
Toll Free: (800) 915-BOWL
Fax: (915) 533-0661