Thursday, December 31, 2020


Marilyn Munden Tabbed 2015 Sun Bowl Association President May 20, 2015

Marilyn Munden Tabbed 2015 Sun Bowl Association President

The Sun Bowl Association has elected Marilyn Munden as President for the 2015-16 year.

Munden, along with the 2015 Board of Directors and Advisors, were officially introduced May 14 at the Abraham Chavez Theater in Downtown El Paso.

A native of Portland, Ore., Marilyn Munden arrived in El Paso in 1985. Since her arrival in the Sun City, Munden has worked arduously with organizations to benefit our community. In 2003, Munden joined the Sun Bowl Association Board of Directors volunteering with all facets of the organization’s events. A vital member of the board, Munden was voted in as president of the Sun Bowl Association for 2015.

Munden began her work as member of the board of directors for the Ronald McDonald House in 1991, where she served for 15 years in numerous capacities including president. She has headed various organizations acting as president for the Convention and Visitors Bureau, the St. Francis Montessori Christian School, and the Visiting Nurses Association. Munden has also held executive positions with the FBI Citizens’ Academy Alumni Association, the Insights Museum, and the American Heart Association. She co-chaired the Greater El Paso Chamber of Commerce Gala from 2005 to 2008.

In 1996 she began her work with the University of Texas at El Paso working with the UTEP Athletics Special Events Board, the Touchdown Club and the UTEP Alumni Board fundraising for academic and athletic scholarships.
Munden has received numerous awards for her community work. A member of Alpha Phi Sorority, she was named the First Lady of El Paso in 2003 by the City Council of Beta Sigma Phi. She received the ‘Molly Pitcher’ Award from the U.S. Army 2-29 Battalion at Fort Bliss and in 2011 was selected by the Texas Commission for Women as an outstanding leader in the community.

She is also a member of the P.E.O. Chapter DR in 2013, a philanthropic women’s organization in El Paso.
At the Sun Bowl Association, Munden has been an integral member of the Hyundai Sun Bowl Football Selection Committee, the FirstLight Federal Credit Union Sun Bowl Parade, and the Academy Sports + Outdoors International Soccer Tournament. She has also served in supportive roles for the Sun Court, the WestStar Bank Don Haskins Sun Bowl Invitational, the Price’s Give ‘Em Five NFL Punt, Pass & Kick, and the Fan Fiesta, amongst other events.
Currently a business development official with the El Paso Venture Group, Munden has held various positions with the company since 2002.

Munden and her husband Ron have been married for 54 years and have four children and 12 grandchildren.

Joining the 82nd president of the association on the board of directors are Steve Beltran (President Elect), Bill Coon (Executive Vice President), Barry Kobren (Immediate Past President), Jimmy Rogers, Jr. (Chair Emeritus), Natalia Flores (Secretary), Ric Siefkas (Treasurer), Bryan Crowe (VP Community Relations), Stuart Sliva (VP Marketing), Scott Mann (VP Legal Affairs), Wayne Thornton (VP Public Relations), John Aranda (VP Volunteers), Linda Smith (Coronation), John Folmer (Football Chairman), Jim Lawrence (Parade Chairman), Art Muñoz (Special Events Chairman), Asher Feinberg (CBS Host Chairman), Mark Pelletier (Golf Chairman), Allen Rystad (Provisions), Larry Duncan, Robert Dunlop, Michael Guerra, Mary Kipp, Andre Miranda, Victor Rueda, James O. Stewart III, Ernest Eisenberg, Tamara Gladkowski, Travis Hughes and Alice Chavez.

The 2015 Sun Bowl Association Board of Advisors is made up of Amen Ayoub, Frank Bates, Ruben Batista, Bill Blaziek, Walker Crowson, Edward Davis, Richard Dayoub, Celia Dubrule, Linda East, Veronica Escobar, David Forti, Michelle Kaip, Brian Kennedy, Monica Lombraña, Tommy Lewis, David Lindhuber, Charles Lopez, Jr., David Morales, Major General (USA Ret.) John Oblinger, Jean Offutt, Cindy Ramos Davidson, Terri Rangel, Jimmy Rogers III, Mike Rogers, Mike Rosales, Victor Salazar, Jeff Stevens, Bob Stull, Eric Swanson, Brad Taylor, Brooke Underwood, Pat Valdez-Rios, Joe Valenzuela, Charles Vass and Mario Vega.

Contact Us!

Sun Bowl Association
4150 Pinnacle Street
Suite 100
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: (915) 533-4416
Toll Free: (800) 915-BOWL
Fax: (915) 533-0661