Friday, December 31, 2021


CBS and the Hyundai Sun Bowl Celebrate 50 Consecutive Years of Partnership September 1, 2017

CBS and the Hyundai Sun Bowl Celebrate 50 Consecutive Years of Partnership

EL PASO, Texas – Inspired by the 50th consecutive showing of the Hyundai Sun Bowl on CBS, the Sun Bowl Association unveiled its 2017 Hyundai Sun Bowl poster on Friday, Sept. 1 showcasing the amazing broadcasters who have made the historic bowl game memorable for those watching on national television.

“We cannot find words to show our appreciation for the partnership we have with CBS so as the saying goes ‘A picture is worth a 1,000 words’ but in this case, a poster is even worth more,” Sun Bowl Association Executive Director Bernie Olivas said. “Only one other sporting event has been on one network longer than the Sun Bowl.”
Only the Master’s, which also airs on CBS, has a longer consecutive showing on one network. The Hyundai Sun Bowl is also one of only five bowl games not televised on ESPN.

The Sun Bowl was first televised on CBS in 1968 when Auburn defeated Arizona 34-10 with Lindsey Nelson and Hall-of-Famer Frank Gifford announcing the game. Other notable announcers that CBS has provided over the years include Verne Lundquist, Pat Summerall, Burt Reynolds, Pat Haden, Pat O’Brien, Dan Fourts, Ara Parseghian, Michele Tofoya, Brent Musburger and Jim Nantz.

“The Hyundai Sun Bowl’s history is on the field and in the booth,” Olivas said. “El Paso has been lucky to have CBS showcase the game and the City of El Paso for 50 straight years.”

Jim Nantz, who called the play-by-play action for the Sun Bowl numerous times, has called the Master’s for the 32 consecutive year on CBS.

CBS Sports will bring viewers all the color, artistry and drama inherent to the nation’s second oldest bowl game with live coverage of the Hyundai Sun Bowl on Friday, Dec. 29 (3 p.m. ET; 1 p.m. MT).

CBS Talent who have covered the Sun Bowl (alphabetical order – includes play-by-play announcers, color analysts and sideline reporters):
Jill Arrington, Gary Bender, Steve Beuerlein, Carter Blackburn, Todd Blackledge, Dean Blevins, Craig Bolerjack, Tim Brant, Tom Brookshier, Jane Chastain, Don Criqui, Irv Cross, Randy Cross, Gary Danielson, Steve Davis, John Dockery, Terry Donahue, Fred Dryer, Doug Flutie, Dan Fouts, Frank Gifford, Artie Gigantino, Frank Glieber, Pat Haden, Paul Hornung, Dan Jiggets, Gus Johnson, Mike Joy, Andrea Joyce, Allie LaForce, Scott Lasky, Dave Logan, Verne Lundquist, Sean McDonough, Mike Mayock, Scott Moore, Johnny Morris, Brent Musburger, Jim Nantz, Lindsey Nelson, Brad Nessler, Pat O’Brien, Ara Parseghian, Don Perkins, Burt Reynolds, Sam Ryan, Tim Ryan, John Sauer, Dick Stockton, Hank Stram, Pat Summerall, Michelle Tofoya, Lesley Visser, Andre Ware, Tracy Wolfson

CBS and the Hyundai Sun Bowl Celebrate 50 Consecutive Years of Partnership

+ Sun Bowl +

Contact Us!

Sun Bowl Association
4150 Pinnacle Street
Suite 100
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: (915) 533-4416
Toll Free: (800) 915-BOWL