Tuesday, December 31, 2024


Iowa 38

Washington 18

Game Day: December 29, 1995

Iowa vs. Washington

The 20th-ranked Washington Huskies never appeared to be in this game as the Iowa Hawkeyes dominated the first three quarters to win 38-18.

After holding Iowa on its initial series, Washington mishandled the ensuing punt. Sedrick Shaw, who was voted the game’s Most Valuable Player, ran 58 yards for a touchdown, and the Huskies could not recover their equilibrium.

The Hawkeyes went on to score 24 unanswered points, leaving the Huskies scoreless the entire first half. Their contributions led the Huskies to 286 net rushing yards.

Hawkeye running backs Shaw and Tavian banks compiled 135-yards and 122-yards, respectively, to rank as the fifth most successful pair of running backs to compete in the Sun Bowl.

Just as the Iowa Hawkeyes dominated on the field, they dominated the awards.

Jerod DeVries, Iowa’s freshman defensive lineman, was named the Jimmy Rogers, Jr. Most Valuable Lineman. Brion Hurley, the Iowa place kicker who kicked field goals of 50, 49, and 47 yards, was the recipient of the John Folmer Most Valuable Special Teams Player award.

Iowa’s Zach Bromert also added a pair of field goals, one for 33 yards and the other for 34 yards. Hawkeye kickers combined for five total field goals which is the most made in any Sun Bowl game.

Washington also tied for the most touchdown passes (3) thrown, all completed in second half.

Contact Us!

Sun Bowl Association
4150 Pinnacle Street
Suite 100
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: (915) 533-4416
Toll Free: (800) 915-BOWL