

History of the Sun Queen and Court

Coronation has been part of the Sun Bowl since the first-ever college Sun Bowl game was played in 1936. Coronation played a huge social role in the "Sun Carnival", the weeklong pageantry associated with the Sun Bowl.

According to the 1938 Sun Bowl game program, "The social side of the Sun Carnival centers around the Coronation of the Sun Queen with Ladies-In-Waiting and her Royal Court of Princesses from all the cities of the Sun Empire and the Grand Ball tendered by the Association in honor of Her Majesty and Court."

In the early years of the coronation, about 30 young women were part of the formal coronation, and each participant represented an organization.

Today, from five-to-nine or more individuals are chosen for the court, including one queen. Selection is based on poise, appearance, personality, communication and interpersonal skills and the ability to demonstrate knowledge of the Sun Bowl and El Paso. Contestants must be enrolled as full-time students with the minimum GPA of a 2.5 or better.

Princesses and the queen serve as ambassadors for the city of El Paso. They volunteer at various community events and make appearances at the All-America Golf Classic, Sun Bowl Parade, WestStar Don Haskins Sun Bowl Basketball Invitational, Tony the Tiger Sun Bowl Game, the Sun Court Charm Camp and other events throughout the year.

Past Sun Queens

1936	Ruth Staten	1964	Katherine Lynn Crombie	1992	Kristen Brown
1937	Gretchen Reine	1965	Freida Lee Schwartz	1993	Stephanie J. Stanford
1938	Charlene Watkins	1966	Pamela Ann MacGuire	1994	Marisa Loren Echaniz
1939	Margaret McKee	1967	Susan Joan McKee	1995	Jennifer Puishes
1940	Jean Miller	1968	Susan Ponder	1996	Monica Daniels
1941	Mary Mason	1969	Mary Hardie Hoover	1997	Nichole Ayoub
1942	Ellie Semple	1970	Phyllis Deter	1998	Robin Hope Adams
1943	Barbara Bassett	1971	Margaret Mayfield	1999	Michele Amber Malooly
1944	Frances Roderick	1972	Delores Pellicano	2000	Emily Marie Hovel
1945	Frances Schwartz	1973	Kyle Barnhouse	2001	Vanessa Beth Lujan
1946	Barbara Price	1974	Debbie Finger	2002	Amber Doolittle
1947	Anna Louise Jagoe	1975	Marta Salas-Porras	2003	Natalie Hart
1948	Louann Hoover	1976	Lorez Curlin	2004	Lindsay Caldwell
1949	Patricia Murchison	1977	Kay Sanderson	2005	Amanda Esparza
1950	Marianne Lowenfield	1978	Susan Millard	2006	Briana Torres
1951	Susan Ballantyne	1979	Cyndi Lund	2007	Katherine Foust
1952	Frances Zork	1980	Sheryl Ward	2008	Celeste Nevarez
1953	Jean McGregor	1981	Janene Costa	2009	Stephanie Smith
1954	Sandra Schwartz	1982	Amy Wilner	2010	Naomi Nunez
1955	Nancy Saunders	1983	Patty Dent	2011	Adriana Diaz de Leon
1956	Ruthie Kay Fulwiler	1984	Ann Boling	2012	Rebekah Wierson
1957	Helen Ann Harris	1985	Virginia Windle	2013	Madeline Clark
1958	Mary Lee Leavell	1986	Kari Rubin	2014	Rebecca Gutierrez
1959	Linda Hart	1987	Elizabeth Mitchell	2015	Cassidy Daw
1960	Anne Ponder	1988	Linda Ann Hornsten	2016	Katherine Carroll-Miller
1961	Barbara Daugherty	1989	Amy Lynn Kahn	2017	Macy McBeth
1962	Edita White	1990	Allison Lee Hardie	2018	Mckenna Hitter
1963	Martha Charlene Green	1991	Susy Gail Michel	2019-20 Elizabeth Vega	
		•	•	2021 Jaylene Placencia	
				2022	Analisa Quinonez
					•